JEAN PAUL GAULTIER: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk

First and foremost, let me take the honour of stating that Jean Paul Gaultier happens to be my most favourite designer and I have been lucky enough to witness his genius first hand. Ever since I first realized my love for fashion, Jean Paul Gaultier’s work has been with me through the years. I have scanned all his collections, piece by piece, and have (atleast tried to) read all his interviews in almost every magazine I could find.

His story always fascinated me, a young boy who loved cinema (just like me ๐Ÿ˜‰ )and lived in the world of dreams and fantasies. His obsession with ‘Nana’ the bear is no secret, but I surely do love how he carried his childish fantasy in his works through decades. He has also addressed some very important issues like gender,sexuality and effeminacy with some brilliant collections that have become an iconic part of the global fashion history. His muses have long been the strength of his work; from his grandmother in his early childhood to the likes of Kate Moss, Amy Winehouse, Beth Ditto, Madonna, Andrej Prejic and Dita Von Teese. His clothes are a narrative that take you in and you engage with the story.

The Exhibit: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk.
The Exhibit: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk.

Much like his collections,ย when it was decided to create a collective exhibition of his fashion journey, the exhibit became a narrative in itself. ‘From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk’, a travelling exhibition that covered a large section the world, sharing the amazing life and works of Jean Paul Gaultier.

So last year, about the same time as now, I visited New York for a work presentation. As I enquired with my friend for some good design and art exhibitions to look around, I chanced upon this one, one that encompassed my favourite designer’s entire portfolio. Well, I really do consider that the heaven’s had this planned for me. I went straight to Brooklyn’s Art Museum and witnessed what is most likely the best works of fashion I’ve ever seen in person at less than a feet’s distance. The mannequins sang operas and spoke dialogues in french as there were faces projected on them, a technique of presentation I had never seen before. All the collections were divided into separate areas with a special ambience specific to the collection. It was like watching a film with interludes, and characters standing right next to you. Here are a few pictures of the ones I loved the most…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hope you enjoyed it ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “JEAN PAUL GAULTIER: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk

Leave a comment